Conference Speakers


  • Anne Kapuscinski

    Anne Kapuscinski

    Anne Kapuscinski is the director of the Coastal Science and Policy Program and professor of Environmental Studies at UC Santa Cruz. She also is a Pew Fellow in Marine Conservation and Chair of the Board of Directors of the Union of Concerned Scientists.

  • Featured Speakers

  • No alternative text

    Gary Griggs

    Gary Griggs is a Distinguished Professor of Earth & Planetary Sciences at UC Santa Cruz. His research, teaching and writing have been focused on the coast of California and include coastal processes, hazards, and impacts of and responses to sea-level rise.
  • No alternative text

    Alvaro Sanchez

    Alvaro S. Sanchez is an urban planner with extensive experience crafting, implementing and evaluating strategies that leverage private and public investments to deliver community benefits to impacted communities. He is Director of Environmental Equity for The Greenlining Institute.
  • No alternative text

    Vien Truong

    Vien Truong is a policy expert and movement builder who has been a key architect to building an equitable and sustainable economy. She is President of Dream Corps, which brings people together to solve America’s problems by backing initiatives that close prison doors and open doors of opportunity for all. In 2016, Vien received the White House Champion of Change award for her work on climate equity.
  • No alternative text

    Tiffany Wise West

    Dr. Tiffany Wise-West is the Sustainability and Climate Action Manager for the City of Santa Cruz. She is a licensed professional civil engineer and LEED associate professional with over 20 years of experience in municipal planning, infrastructure and programming.

  • Dean of Social Sciences

  • Dean Katharyne Mitchell

    Dean Katharyne Mitchell

    Katharyne Mitchell is the dean of the Division of Social Sciences at UCSC.

  • Dean of Physical and Biological Sciences

  • Dean Paul Koch

    Dean Paul Koch

    Paul Koch is the dean of the Division of Physical and Biological Sciences at UCSC.